First Commit
Menu

Is Codecademy free? What the $0 plan includes, and where the wall is

Written Sep 24, 2026

Yes, permanently, and more usefully than most "free tiers" on the internet. Codecademy's Basic plan is listed at $0 on its own pricing page and marked Always free — not a trial, not a fortnight, not a card held against a future charge. What it is not is the whole product, and the boundary is worth understanding before you decide it is not enough.

What "Always free" actually covers

Codecademy's own FAQ describes Basic as free course content plus the ability to start some more advanced courses, along with an introduction to its AI Builder feature. In practice that means two things.

First, there is a real body of complete free courses you can work through end to end, across the languages people actually begin with. Second — and this is the part people misread — you can begin paid material without paying, which is generous and also occasionally frustrating, because you can get a few units into something good and meet the wall.

There is no time limit on any of it. A free account you opened two years ago is still a free account today.

What sits behind the wall

The pricing page and its FAQ are specific about what upgrading adds, which makes the boundary unusually easy to see:

  • Assessments and most skill paths — Plus and above.
  • Certificates of completion — Plus and above. Basic earns none.
  • Career paths, interview-prep paths, code challenges and certification prep — Pro and above.
  • Live bootcamps, one at a time — All Access only.
  • More AI Builder credits at each tier, with Pro and above getting double the standard allowance.

So the honest summary is: Basic teaches, and the paid tiers structure, assess and certify. If what stops you is not knowing what to do next, that is exactly the thing Basic does not give you.

What upgrading costs

Read on 24 September 2026, with both billing terms printed on the page itself:

  • Plus — $11.99 a month billed annually, or $14.99 billed monthly.
  • Pro — $15.99 a month billed annually, or $19.99 billed monthly.
  • All Access — $54.99 a month, billed annually only.

There is no discount badge and no countdown on that page, which is rarer than it should be. There are buttons offering to try Plus for free and try Pro for free, but the page does not say for how long — so we do not either, and if you use one, find the length in your account before the date passes you.

Is the free tier enough to actually learn to code?

For a first taste, comfortably. For a whole route from nothing to building things on your own, probably not — and importantly, that is not the comparison you should be making.

The real question is not "is Codecademy Basic enough?" but "is it the best free thing available?", and there the answer is no. freeCodeCamp is free all the way through, with nothing behind a wall at any point: its Python certification counts 540 steps, requires five projects and ends in a certification exam, all at no cost. CS50x gives you eleven weeks of Harvard's introduction to computer science free, and issues a free CS50 Certificate at the end. The Odin Project publishes an entire full-stack curriculum openly.

None of those three pays this site a penny, and all three offer more complete free routes than Basic does. What Basic uniquely offers is a no-card way to find out whether Codecademy's particular style — short explanation, editor beside it, instant feedback — is the thing that will keep you turning up. That is a genuinely useful question, and a week on Basic answers it.

The sensible way to use it

  1. Spend a week on Basic without paying anything, and notice whether you come back on day four.
  2. Simultaneously try a free route with no wall — freeCodeCamp is the obvious one — and notice the same thing.
  3. If Codecademy is the one you kept opening, and you can name what you need from the paid tier, upgrade. Plus is the tier the page itself describes for personal projects; Pro is aimed at people trying to change jobs.
  4. If neither held you, the problem is not the platform and no subscription will fix it. Try a different format — a taught course like CS50x, or a book such as the free Automate the Boring Stuff with Python.

The full field, with what each provider charges and which billing panel it hides behind, is in our comparison of every coding route and its price. Our read on the paid product specifically is in the Codecademy review, where it scores full marks for candour about money and we are careful to say what that score does and does not mean.

Why this free tier is unusual

Most things advertised as free on a pricing page are one of three other things wearing the word. A trial is free until a date and converts unless you act. A freemium demo is free but crippled in a way designed to be annoying rather than useful. A free plan with a card required is a subscription you have not noticed yet.

Codecademy Basic is none of those. It is listed at $0 with no term beside it, marked Always free, and it works without a card. You can leave an account dormant for a year and come back to it. That is worth saying clearly, because the same pricing page also carries two buttons inviting you to try the paid tiers for free — and those are trials, whose length the page does not state.

Knowing which of the two you signed up for is the whole thing. If you want to explore with no clock running, make a Basic account and ignore the trial buttons. If you do start a trial, find its end date in your account settings on the first day rather than the last, because a trial that converts quietly is how most unwanted subscriptions begin.

The free-tier questions

Is Codecademy free?
Partly, and permanently. Its pricing page lists a Basic plan at $0 marked "Always free", which its FAQ describes as free course content plus the ability to start some more advanced courses. There is no time limit and no card required. What Basic does not include is assessments, most skill paths, certificates of completion, career paths or certification prep — those begin at Plus, which was $11.99 a month billed annually or $14.99 billed monthly when we read the page on 24 September 2026.
Can I learn to code entirely on Codecademy's free plan?
You can learn a real amount, but you will meet a wall, and there are better free routes if free is your requirement. freeCodeCamp has nothing behind a wall at all and takes you through a full certification; CS50x gives you eleven weeks of Harvard material and a free certificate; The Odin Project publishes a complete full-stack curriculum. None of those pays us anything. Codecademy's free tier is best understood as the way to find out whether its format suits you before a card is involved.
Does the free plan give you a certificate?
No. Codecademy's FAQ places certificates of completion on Plus, Pro and All Access, earned at 100% progress through a course or path. Basic earns none. If a free certificate is what you are after, freeCodeCamp issues its certifications at no cost, and CS50 issues a free CS50 Certificate separately from the verified certificate edX sells — though it is worth knowing that Harvard's own FAQ states its certificates are not accredited academic offerings.
Will the free plan ask for my card?
Not for Basic, which is listed at $0 with no term attached. The two buttons on the pricing page offering to try Plus and Pro for free are a different thing: a trial of a paid tier, whose length the page does not state. We have not published a length because we did not read one. If you start a trial rather than a Basic account, find the end date in your account settings on day one, because a trial that converts quietly is how most unwanted subscriptions begin.

Once you know what you want to learn, the money question is the same one every time: which coding courses are worth paying for, and which free route beats them sets every price we read against the routes that charge nothing.